Thursday, November 15, 2012

New free streaming video broadcasts, AL Live


AL Live, the new free streaming video broadcast from American Libraries, launches this Friday, November 16, at 1:00 pm Central time (2:00pm Eastern, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific) with “Library 2017: Tech at Warp Speed.”

In this first episode, author and ALA TechSource columnist Jason Griffey moderates a discussion on libraries in the near future, with an expert panel including Marshall Breeding (independent consultant, speaker, and author), Nina McHale (Web Developer at the Arapahoe Library District, Englewood, CO), and Rebecca K. Miller (College Librarian for Science, Life Sciences, and Engineering at Virginia Tech).

You can view AL Live from anywhere--your home, library or favorite wi-fi spot—and watch broadcasts about library issues and trends in real time as you interact with hosts via a live chat, offering immediate answers to your questions. With the help of real-time technology, it’s like having your own experts on hand. The programs are easy to view; you can find out more, including how to catch Friday’s first episode, at http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org/

Future broadcasts include:
• Nov. 16: Library 2017: Tech at Warp Speed
• Jan. 10: Landing Your Ideal Library Job
• Feb. 14: Mobile Services: The Library in Your Pocket
• March 14: Library Safety and Security
• April 11: The Present and Future of Ebooks
• May 9: Library Learning Goes Online
• June 6: New Technologies in Library Equipment
• July 30: Discovery Services: The Future of Library Systems
• Sept. 12: Digging into New Databases

We hope you’ll take advantage of, and enjoy, this new free way to stay updated on the issues.

http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org/
Posted By Mary Mackay