Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Nov: Teaching with Tablets (ALA)

Thursday, November 20, 2014
2:30pm Eastern | 1:30pm Central | 12:30pm Mountain | 11:30am Pacific
90 minutes

Explore new and innovative ways to use mobile technologies and apps in and beyond the library classroom. Course instructors will use examples and case studies from academic, school, public, and special libraries to explore how individuals are using tablets, smartphones, and other mobile devices to access and use information. They will show you how to apply these new technologies to teaching and learning in your library.

$60
http://www.alastore.ala.org/detail.aspx?ID=11198

Nov: How to Find Standards: Tricks & Tips (FDLP)

November 12, 2014  /  2:00 pm Eastern Time

Looking for a standard? In this webinar we will discuss different types of standards, including military standards and industry standards, and resources to help you locate them. We’ll also discuss specialized search tools and designations for identifying standards that will help you work faster and smarter, including standards search engines. Finally, if your questions about standards are so technical that only a technical expert can help, we’ll talk about little-known resources you can use to help you identify and reach the right person.

http://www.fdlp.gov/about-the-fdlp/training-and-events?acm=2824_445

Friday, October 17, 2014

Oct: 20 Apps in Putting Apps to Use in the Classroom (Blended Librarians)

Wednesday, October 22, 2014 at 3:00 pm EST

Webcast presentation and discussion with Sherri Hope Culver, Associate Professor at Temple University. In this high energy and interactive presentation, a wide range of apps and online activities will be shared that many teachers are using (or could use) in the classroom.

To learn more and register for this free event visit: http://sco.lt/6Gg5ib

Nov: Business Faculty Use and Perception of Research Resources (ACRL-CHOICE)

Weds, Nov 12 / 11am-12pm PT / 2-3pm ET

In an ACRL/Choice webinar last year ProQuest shared the results of a large survey of business faculty into the types of non-journal information they use when conducting research. Join us at 2:00pm ET on 12 November when we will share the findings of a follow-up survey conducted in May 2014. In this lengthier survey business faculty responded to questions about their research behaviors and experiences using resources such as the library website, databases and Google Scholar; what kinds of information they expect students to use for completing course work; and their use of data sets.

https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/DVTQDWM