Friday, February 8, 2013

Mobile Services: The Library in Your Pocket


“Mobile Services: The Library in Your Pocket” on Thursday, Feb 14 (1:00 pm Central time, 2:00pm Eastern, noon Mountain, 11:00am Pacific) is the next episode of AL Live, the recently introduced free streaming video broadcast from American Libraries that has already attracted thousands of viewers and enthusiastic responses.

Jason Griffey is back by popular demand as the episode’s host, with panelists Maurice Coleman and Robin Hastings. Maurice Coleman is the technical trainer at Harford County (MD) Public Library, hosts the library training podcast T is for Training, is on the board of the American Library Association Learning Round Table and writes for the blog, ALALearning at http://alalearning.org/ . Robin Hastings is the Information Technology Coordinator for the Missouri River Regional Library, managing the library’s network, social media and staff training initiatives. At conferences, she has presented on Mashups, Cloud Computing, RSS, Drupal, Library Learning 2.0 and many other topics, and is the author of books and articles including Library Technology Report Collaboration 2.0 and Microblogging and Lifestreaming In Libraries published by ALA ( http://www.alastore.ala.org ). To read more about the panelists, visit http://americanlibrarieslive.org/blog .

You can view AL Live from anywhere--your home, library or favorite wi-fi spot—and watch broadcasts about library issues and trends in real time as you interact with hosts via a live chat, offering immediate answers to your questions. With the help of real-time technology, it’s like having your own experts on hand. The programs and archives are easy to view; you can find out more, including how to catch the February 14 episode, at http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org

Future broadcasts include:
• March 14: Library Safety and Security
• April 11: The Present and Future of Ebooks
• May 9: Library Learning Goes Online
• June 6: New Technologies in Library Equipment
• July 30: Discovery Services: The Future of Library Systems
• Sept. 12: Digging into New Databases

Please take advantage of and enjoy this new free way to stay updated on the issues, and share the information about AL Live with your colleagues.
http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org
Posted By Mary Mackay
View or add comments »