Thursday, December 5, 2013

Jan: How to Teach Online: A Beginner’s Guide

January 16, 2014
11:30am-1pm Pacific

A 90-minute workshop, Thursday, January 16, 2014, 2:30pm Eastern/1:30pm Central/12:30pm Mountain/11:30am Pacific

From webinars to online courses to MOOCs, the flexibility and affordability of online learning is an appealing option for libraries. But for those who have never taught online, the thought of jumping into it for the first time can be intimidating. In this workshop, online instruction expert Paul Signorelli joins Dan Freeman, ALA Publishing’s eLearning Manager, to demonstrate how practical and effective teaching online can be, no matter your level of experience. Signorelli and Freeman will show you how to use a variety of formats to provide quality online training and instruction, in ways that use your strengths to get your message across.

Topics include:
Accomplishing online what you can accomplish onsite—overcoming the myth that onsite learning trumps online learning
Presenting online vs. in-person—similarities and differences
Building engagement and audience participation into your online instruction
Different formats for online presentation
How to bring your in-person strengths to online presentation
Finding your comfort zone