Tuesday, January 8, 2013

New Librarians Global Connection: best practices, models and recommendations



For the second consecutive year, IFLA Continuing Professional Development and Workplace Learning and IFLA New Professionals Special Interest Group are partnering with the American Library Association to present a series of free quarterly webinars on issues of interest to new librarians, library associations and library schools, library-decision makers, and all library workers. This is a great opportunity for membership participation via new worldwide online programming.

Following our tradition of excellence, this year our keynote speakers for each of our quarterly sessions come from different regions of the world. They include IFLA Incoming President, Sinikka Sipilä, and the President of the Library Association of Singapore, Gene Tan.
Below, the date and time of the next webinar. Save the date!

January 15, 2013
9:00 a.m. CST
10:00 a.m. EST
4:00 p.m. CET
11:00 p.m. Singapore
7:00 a.m. Sydney (next day)

Use the following link to check your computer, and to access the virtual meeting room: https://ala.adobeconnect.com/_a1087453682/r5jykrkmz66/

Webinar length is one hour. 

Speakers:

Keynote by Gene Tan, Director of the National Library of Singapore. President of the Library Association of Singapore (LAS), Director of Singapore Memory Project. Gene is a renowned international speaker about librarian skills and innovative strategies for libraries and librarians. LAS conference this past September was titled “Librarians for Tomorrow.”  Keynote topics: Librarian skills, knowledge sharing, innovation, professional development, the new library, the unlibrary, library within a library.

Robin Kear, Liaison Librarian at the University of Pittsburgh. International instructor, speaker and writer. Topic: Strategizing Your International Librarianship Career: Redux 2013.

Heikki Varjooma, Event-coordinator, Department of Events and Marketing, Helsinki City Library. Member of Nordic Gamebrarians. Topics: innovation, creativity, Library 10, new librarians and games in libraries.

The topics for the webinars were compiled from surveys, Proceedings from CPDWL Satellite Conference for WLIC 2012, topics presented by speakers during the NPSIG and MLAs program at the WLIC 2012 in Helsinki, NPSIG working group, and new librarians' forums, listservs and online spaces.
The quarterly webinars will be presented in January, April, July and October 2013. Our Keynote for April is IFLA Incoming President, Sinikka Sipilä. Stay tuned for more news!

The webinars are archived, therefore you can join them, ask questions and participate in conversations with international colleagues live, or you can listen to them later, anywhere at any time.

For more information about the 2012 ‘New Librarians Global Connection: best practices, models and recommendations’ series, visit http://npsig.wordpress.com/webinars/