Wednesday, January 9, 2013

Landing Your Ideal Library Job



SJSU Career Center Liaison Joins Panel to Discuss the Library Job Market

The recently launched free streaming video broadcast from American Libraries, AL Live, is diving into the topic that is weighing on the minds of many future and current librarians in its second episode. “Landing Your Ideal Library Job” focuses on the library job market and the challenges that librarians at all points in their careers are facing in navigating it.
Host David Connolly, who is the manager of the ALA JobLIST site, will be joined by panel members Jill Klees, Career Center Liaison to the School of Library and Information Science at San Jose State University, and Bohyun Kim, Digital Access Librarian at Florida International University Medical Library.

As the San Jose State University Career Center Liaison, Klees is the go-to person for all things career related. In addition to providing career guidance to SJSU School of Library and Information Science graduate students, she coordinates the Career Colloquium Series and oversees the plethora of Career Development resources available for free on the SLIS website: http://slisweb.sjsu.edu. You can chat with Klees on the next episode of AL Live.

Event:             AL Live
Date:               Thursday, January 10, 2013
Time:              1:00 p.m. Central, 2:00 p.m. Eastern, Noon Mountain, 11:00 a.m. Pacific
Location:        Online at http://www.americanlibrarieslive.org

AL Live is accessible from anywhere – your home, library, or favorite Wi-Fi spot – and features broadcasts about library issues and trends in real time. Participants can interact with experts via a live chat, offering immediate answers to questions. The episodes are archived for future viewing at your convenience.

The San Jose State University School of Library and Information Science offers two fully online master’s degrees, a fully online post master’s certificate program, and a doctoral program: Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS), Master of Archives and Records Administration (MARA), Post-Master’s Certificate in Library and Information Science, and the San Jose Gateway PhD Program. Let the learning begin: http://slisweb.sjsu.edu