Friday, May 10, 2013

June: Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections



June 10 through June 11, 2013.  Registration is now open. 
This two-day virtual preconference provides an overview of collection development for shared electronic resource collections. The first session describes a consortium eBook demand-driven acquisitions project from the perspective of a library vendor and the consortium. The second session addresses special considerations related to developing and licensing shared electronic resource collections.
This virtual preconference is comprised of two online sessions.
Monday, June 10 - Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection: The Colorado Alliance Experience
This session will be 90 minutes, beginning at at noon Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern.
Presented by Barbara Kawecki, MLS, Senior Digital Content Sales Manager, Western U.S. and Western Canada, YBP Library Services, and Michael Levine-Clark, Associate Dean for Scholarly Communication and Collections Services, Penrose Library, University of Denver.

This virtual preconference is comprised of two one-hour sessions over two days, Monday, June 10–Tuesday, June 11.
Date
Title
Presenter
Monday, June 10
Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection: The Colorado Alliance Experience
Barbara Kawecik and Michael Levine-Clark

Tuesday, June 11
eResource Sharing: Getting Buy With a Little Help from Your Friends
Athena Hoeppner
     
Monday's session will be 90 minutes, begining at noon Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern.
Tuesday's session will be an hour, begining at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, 2pm Eastern.



Register through ALA Online Learning.

Registration fee for all sessions: $62 for ALCTS members, $80 for non-members and $168 for groups. 

Single session fee: $39 for ALCTS members, $49 for non-members, $99 for groups.  As always, ALCTS webinars are free to LIS students. 

For more information visit the “Shared Collection Development" page on the ALCTS website.

If you have any questions, please contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Continuing Education, jreese@ala.org.